fbpx

Welding Technology-Advanced

The Welding Technology – Advanced program is designed to prepare students for employment or advanced training in a variety of occupations in the welding industry.

Program Overview

This program focuses on broad, transferable skills and stresses understanding and demonstration of the following elements of the Welding industry; planning, management, finance, technical and product skills, underlying principles of technology, labor issues, community issues and health, safety, and environmental issues.

Employment Opportunities

  • Welder

What You'll Learn

  • Apply intermediate shielded metal arc welding (SMAW) pipe welding (B-Class Welder) skills
  • Apply and understand fabrication techniques using pipe fitting techniques.
  • Apply advanced gas-tungsten arc welding (GTAW) pipe skills on stainless steel pipe.
  • Apply advanced gas-tungsten arc welding (GTAW) and shielded metal arc welding (SMAW) heavy-wall pipe skills.
  • Apply emerging welding technologies
  • New technology will consist of orbital welding on pipe and downhill pipe welding.

Program Requirements

Welding Technology-Advanced · J400410 · 750 Hours

OCP Course Number Course Title Course Length SOC Code
A PMT0075 Advanced Welder 1 600 51-4121
B PMT0076 Advanced Welder 2 150 51-4121

Program Costs

$2,010.00 Florida Resident Tuition ($2.68 x 750 hours)
$90.00 Registration Fees ($45.00 per semester x 2)
$100.00 Facility Usage Fee ($50.00 per semester x 2)
$1,900.00 Lab Fees ($950.00 per semester x 2)
$0.00 Bookstore Costs
$355.00 Miscellaneous Fees** (paid 1st semester only)
Total Costs $4,455.00

Employers of Graduates

Program Instructors

Melford Sims
Mr. Mel Sims
Department Chair

Phone: 850-487-7464

Email: simsm1103@leonschools.net

Altoral Terrell
Mr. Altoral Terrell
Instructor

Phone: 850-487-7555

Email: terrella@leonschools.net

Scott Ferrell
Mr. Scott Ferrell
Instructor

Phone: 850-487-7450

Email: Ferrells2@leonschools.net

Jared Kilpatrick
Jared Kilpatrick
Instructor

Phone: 850-487-7450

Email: kilpatrickj@leonschools.net

Marshall Roberts
Marshall Roberts
Instructor

Phone: 850-487-7450

Email: Robertsm1@leonschools.net

Daniel Schul
Instructor

Phone: 850-487-7450

Email: schuld@leonschools.net

Kelly Mosley
Instructor

Phone: 850-487-7450

Email: mosleya@leonschools.net

Connor Stephens
Instructor

Phone: 850-487-7450

Email: stephensc3@leonschools.net

Occupational Advisory Committee

Floyd Alford
City of Tallahassee
Ronnie Fuller
Jones Welding Supply
Jim Issa
Lincoln Electric
Joe Lollis
City of Tallahassee
Ronnie Poppel
Fru-Con Construction
Ted Reeves
State of Florida